Board Meeting Minutes

November 17, 2020

A meeting of the Alabama Board for Registration of Architects was held on Tuesday, November 17, 2020 at 10:00 a.m. at the RSA Union Building in Montgomery.

<u>Members Present</u>: Michael L. Chapman, Chair; Nolanda Hatcher, Vice-Chair; Jimmy H. Seay, Jr., Member; Daniel D. Bennett, Member; Emily Coe, Member; and Sted McCollough, Member.

<u>Staff</u>: Paula McCaleb, Executive Director; Debbie Whitman, Legal Research Assistant; Claudia Smith, Assistant Attorney General; and Bill Garrett, Assistant Attorney General.

Ex-Officio Member: Scott Pilgreen, State Fire Marshal.

Chair Chapman called the meeting to order at 10:02 a.m. and declared that a quorum was present in the following Members: Ms. Hatcher; Mr. Seay; Mr. McCollough; Ms. Coe and Chair Chapman. Mr. Bennett joined the meeting by teleconference.

The meeting was advertised on the Secretary of State's web site and the Board's web site in accordance with the Open Meetings Act.

Motion 2021-01: Mr. Seay moved that the Consent Agenda, including the Minutes from the August 19, 2020 Board Meeting, be approved as presented. Ms. Hatcher seconded. Motion carried with all in favor (Mr. Seay, Mr. Bennett, Ms. Hatcher, Ms. Coe, Mr. McCollough, and Chair Chapman.)

Mr. Bob Herbert, Chief Investigator for the Board of Engineers and Land Surveyors spoke to the Board regarding Quality Based Selection (QBS). At 10:50 a.m., Mr. Herbert concluded his presentation and left the meeting.

Motion 2021-02: Mr. Seay moved to dispense a total of \$60,000 to Auburn University and Tuskegee University as discussed (\$46,100 to Auburn University; and \$13,900 to Tuskegee University). Mr. McCollough seconded. Motion carried with all in favor (Mr. Seay, Mr. McCollough, Ms. Hatcher, Ms. Coe, Mr. Bennett, and Chair Chapman.)

Motion 2021-03: Mr. Seay moved to adopt the amendment to Rule 100-X-2-.09 – Emeritus Status Architects as submitted for public advertisement with there being no comments received from the public. Ms. Hatcher seconded. Motion carried with the following in favor (Mr. Seay, Ms. Hatcher, Mr. McCollough, Ms. Coe, and Chair Chapman.) Mr. Bennett abstained from the vote due to not being physically present. *Note: Rule as certified attached to official Minutes.*

Motion 2021-04: Ms. Hatcher moved to amend Rule 100-X-2-.02 Registration by Examination as submitted. Mr. McCollough seconded. Motion carried with the following in favor (Mr. Seay, Ms. Hatcher, Mr. McCollough, Ms. Coe, and Chair Chapman.) Mr.

Bennett abstained from the vote due to not being physically present. *Note: Rule amendment language as voted on attached to official Minutes.*

<u>Motion 2021-05</u>: Ms. Hatcher moved to amend Rule 100-X-2-.10 Renewal of Registration as submitted. Ms. Coe seconded. Motion carried with the following in favor (Mr. Seay, Ms. Hatcher, Mr. McCollough, Ms. Coe, and Chair Chapman.) Mr. Bennett abstained from the vote due to not being physically present. *Note: Rule amendment language as voted on attached to official Minutes*.

Motion 2021-06: Mr. Seay moved to adopt the 2021 Board Meeting Dates as follows: January 20th (South District Nomination Meeting); January 26th (North District Nomination Meeting); January 27th (North Central District Nomination Meeting and Board Meeting); May 12th (Board Meeting); August 11th (Board Meeting); and November 10th (Board Meeting). Ms. Hatcher seconded. Motion carried with all in favor (Mr. Seay, Ms. Hatcher, Mr. McCollough, Ms. Coe, Mr. Bennett, and Chair Chapman).

At 11:25 a.m. Claudia Smith and Bill Garrett from the Attorney General's Office left the meeting. At 11:30 a.m. State Fire Marshal Pilgreen left the meeting.

Motion 2021-07: Ms. Coe moved to disprove the request for CE Waiver from Mr. Sweeney. Ms. Hatcher seconded. Motion carried with all in favor (Mr. Seay, Ms. Hatcher, Mr. McCollough, Ms. Coe, Mr. Bennett, and Chair Chapman).

Motion 2021-08: The time being 11:34 a.m. and there being no further business, Mr. Seay moved to adjourn the meeting. Ms. Hatcher seconded. Motion carried with all in favor (Mr. Seay, Ms. Hatcher, Mr. McCollough, Ms. Coe, Mr. Bennett, and Chair Chapman).

Chair Chapman announced that the next currently scheduled meeting would be held on January 20. 2021.

Respectfully Submitted:	
Michael L. Chapman, <i>Chair</i>	_
Nolanda Hatcher, <i>Vice Chair</i>	_
Paula McCaleb, <i>Executive Director</i> (serving as Recorder)	_